Characteristics and overclocking of the processor Intel Core i5

The processors of the Intel Core i5 line are represented in such a wide range of models, that it is not easy to choose the optimal chip for solving problems related to the overclocking that is popular among Russian IT specialists. That is, the acceleration of "iron". What are the criteria for choosing an Intel Core i5 processor that is optimal for this purpose? What to look for when overclocking the chip?

Chipset Facts

Intel Core i5 is not a single processor, but a huge family of chips, positioned as a mid-priced product. In terms of performance, the Intel Core i5 processor (reviews by many IT specialists confirm this) occupies an intermediate position between its “brothers” - i3 and i7. What are the distinguishing features of these chips? What are the main characteristics of the processor Intel Core i5, characteristic of most of its modifications?

CPU, overclocking itself

You can, for example, note that the chip line implemented remarkable technology Turbo Boost. It implies processor overclocking in the automatic mode, in case the standard values ​​reflecting the performance become insufficient. Also, a number of models of the line has a built-in chip, which is responsible for graphics processing independent of the video card.

Overclocking the processor Intel Core i5

The range of clock frequencies that determine the performance of the Intel Core i5 processor is 1,2-3,6 GHz. The rate of data exchange through DMI is more than decent - 2,5 GP / s. The production technology of chips is different - there are those that are manufactured on the basis of crystals in 45 nm, and there are those in the release of which elements are used in 32 nm. The microarchitecture of processors of this line is implemented in two versions - Intel Nehalem and Sandy Bridge. The number of cores varies - 2 or 4, the cache of the second level - 256 KB (on the 1 core), the third - 4-6 MB.

Many IT-specialists are sure that it is possible to carry out impressive overclocking of the processor Intel Core i5 in most of its modifications. Therefore, we will study the features of this chip, correlating them with the prospects for increasing performance using the "overclocking" method.

Architecture features

Consider first some aspects reflecting the structure of the processor. If we talk about Sandy Bridge, then it should be noted that the Intel Core i5 processor, reviews of which are particularly common among overclocking enthusiasts, is not the only one where this architecture is implemented. Sandy Bridge is also the basis for the operation of i3 and i7 rulers. At the same time, as experts note, the peculiarities of this architecture rather impede the quality overclocking of the processor. In connection with what?

Sandy Bridge Specific

The fact is that certain key factors, without which overclocking of the Intel Core i5 processor is difficult, are in many models of chips equipped with Sandy Bridge simply blocked. The maximum that an overclocker with such i5 on “armament” can count on is an increase in the frequency on the order of 900 MHz. For a professional overclocking enthusiast, this is not the most prominent indicator (although it is quite acceptable for an amateur).

At the same time, there are processors in the i5 line, in which you can freely set the values ​​for the necessary multipliers. These chips include, for example, Intel Core i5-2500K. Theoretically, such models can be overclocked, as some IT specialists believe, to 5 GHz and higher. Many overclocking experts are also impressed by the fact that the cost of processors with unlocked multipliers is rather democratic. This allows, for example, paying the order of 200-250 dollars for a processor that can “accelerate” well, to achieve a level of performance of almost “premium” chips - so many experts believe.

Perfect processor for overclocking

According to some experts, the overclocking of the processor Intel Core i5 is best done in the very modification i5-2500K. It is relatively inexpensive - about as much as the above, and the results are quite decent in the overclocked state. In some aspects of the "acceleration" of this processor, as some experts believe, is quite comparable with the more prestigious i7. And if you compare their cost, then the ratio of price and potential growth in productivity, as experts believe, makes i5 almost the preferred solution than the model that is newer, but significantly more expensive.

CPU overclocking

Of course, if you compare i7 and Intel Core i5 processor, there are differences in the level of technology. For example, the third level cache size is different in these chips. The older model is equipped with 8 MB, the younger - 6. However, as many experts note, this difference has no practical significance in most cases.

Intel Core 2500K: features

Continuing the description of the processor Intel Core i5 2500K, which is a candidate for the status of the most optimal for overclocking, it should be noted: many experts consider it perfectly adapted for gaming needs. Moreover, the 4 cores with which the chip is equipped is the limit for many modern “gaming” solutions. Processors that support a larger number of simultaneously processed threads are far from always capable of providing a real increase in performance in games.

Iron factor

Of course, planning overclocking of the Intel Core i5 processor, the overclocker should get an adequate hardware in advance for the upcoming experiments. The hardware capabilities of the other components of the PC must match the performance of the processor. If we use Core i5 2500K, then we will need a computer, the characteristics of which should not be inferior to the following:

- cooler with turns of at least 1800 units per minute;

- video card of the Radeon HD 5870 level;

- RAM type DDR3-1600, minimum 4 GB;

Processor Type Intel Core i5

It is desirable that a high-quality cooling system was also on the system unit.

Software factor

Overclocking the processor is, as some overclocking enthusiasts believe, a kind of little research. Therefore, it will not be superfluous for the user to acquire also an adequate "software" component. If we talk about the optimal operating system, it is quite acceptable to overclock the processor in Windows OS 7. You also need to make sure that all drivers are installed with all the latest drivers.

Results require measurements.

In terms of software, it is important to acquire a program to effectively measure the results, which the overclocking of the processor will show. What kind of software makes sense to pay attention to? One of the most universal programs used by overclockers is 3D Mark. It, as many IT-specialists believe, gives sufficiently objective results on the performance of the processor core, adequately compares the achieved performance with those shown by other chips.

Another useful utility is PC Mark. It can be used as a complex type of software for testing processor performance.

Intel Core i5 processor performance

Among the most versatile types of software for researching the speed of a PC (and not only the processor, but also other hardware components) is the SiSoft Sandra program. One of the most objective (if we talk about measuring the performance of chips) measurements that are present in SiSoft Sandra, is an arithmetic test. Also useful may be the results of cryptographic measurements made by one of the modules of this program.

Some experts believe that the architecture of the processor Intel Core i5 is well adapted to work in "chess" programs. Thus, it is possible to measure the performance of a chip in terms of overclocking based on the number of operations it performs in the process of “thinking moves.” The program, which is ideally suitable for this purpose, experts say, is Fritz Chess Benchmark.

Software that is at hand

The above programs are specialized overclocking software. Despite the fact that their use, as a rule, gives quite reliable and fairly detailed figures, which make it possible to understand how overclocking turned out to be successful, experts recommend using “normal” utilities in addition. For example, the archiver: using an accelerated processor, you can try to pack (or perform the reverse procedure) files, measuring, firstly, the overall speed of operations, and secondly, watching the stability of the computer as a whole.

Photoshop can also be useful - especially in the part of image operations where filter mapping is applied. This kind of action very decently load the processor. If the computer will work with the use of such opportunities Photoshop steadily - it means that the chip was overclocked sufficiently competently.

What other utilities might come in handy? For example, an application such as Linpack may be appropriate. It will also be useful to install a utility with which you can monitor the temperature of the processor. As such, you can use the program Real Temp. The CPU-z application can also be useful for collecting system data.

Game factor

Above, we noted that the chip we are considering is a gaming processor. Intel Core i5, if you look at its basic characteristics (such as, for example, the basic clock frequency - more than 3 GHz), really seems quite productive for "gaming tasks." Therefore, during overclocking, it makes sense to study how the processor behaves in specialized programs that simulate the gaming environment, or, in fact, the games themselves. In the second case, its performance indicators can be fixed using the FRAPS utility.

Intel Core i5 processor reviews

Before you start testing - in software or gaming - the Intel Core i5 processor must be "measured" at the "factory" settings. By fixing the numbers in the respective types of software, you can increase the frequency of the multipliers. How to do it?

BIOS features

The most accessible way to "overclock" the processor is to set the appropriate settings for multipliers in the BIOS. To do this, restart the PC and at the very beginning of the launch of the computer, press DEL - through this action we exit to the BIOS. It is possible, of course, that the input key to the I / O system will be different. But, as a rule, the necessary hint is always displayed on the screen. It can look something like this: Press DEL to Enter BIOS. Instead of DEL, thus, another necessary button will be indicated if it is different from the one marked.

Intel Core i5 gaming processor

Going into the BIOS, we find the option of the type of Frequency Control. Several basic multipliers will be available. We will be interested in two - the total frequency of the processor bus (it is expressed in MHz) and, in fact, its coefficient. The first parameter to touch is not recommended. The technological type of Intel Core i5 processor based on the Sandy Bridge architecture is not very compatible with adjusting the system bus parameters. Moreover, as experts note, experiments with this setting, as a rule, do not provide practically significant performance gains.

For growth to be progressive

Experiments with the second component are quite acceptable. The characteristics of the processor Intel Core i5-2500K allow an increase in the coefficient in question to 57. However, it is very undesirable to set this value immediately. It is necessary to raise the figure gradually, measuring the result of "overclocking" in the programs that we reviewed above. The optimal starting value for the multiplier is 40. If the system starts to work unstable, you can lower it.

Characteristics of the processor Intel Core i5

Some experts advise overclockers to experiment not only with the multiplier, but also with the processor's voltage. But there is no unambiguous point of view on this matter among specialists. There are opponents of this approach. At the same time, if the user still wants to work with this component, then you should start with the 1,15 B metric.

Practical results

What results can be obtained from chip overclocking? Could the installation of the Intel Core i5 processor on a gaming computer significantly affect the performance growth? According to experts, the results can be excellent. Installation - justified. Many of the IT-specialists who conducted the experiment, came to the conclusion that the overclocking capabilities of the processor are especially remarkable in terms of the risks of overheating. That is, it is quite possible to increase the practical performance of the chip, at which the processor temperature will unconditionally be within the technological norm. This means that if necessary, the multiplier can be increased further. True, then the issue of system stability becomes relevant. It needs to be tested, preferably through several programs at once.

Overclocking is a chance to really speed up a computer without additional investments. It is possible, therefore, to purchase a budget quad-core Intel Core i5 processor and increase its performance by an order of magnitude, bringing it to a level comparable to the performance of leading "premium" models.

Intel Core i5-7400 - review of the most affordable 4-core Kaby Lake


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Loading ...

Add a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Характеристики и разгон процессора Intel Core i5

Процессоры линейки Intel Core i5 представлены в столь широком спектре моделей, что совсем непросто выбрать оптимальный чип для решения задач, связанных с популярным в среде российских IT-специалистов увлечением - "оверклокингом". То есть разгоном "железа". По каким критериям можно выбрать оптимально подходящий для подобных целей процессор линейки Intel Core i5? На что обращать внимание при разгоне микросхемы?

Факты о линейке чипов

Intel Core i5 - это не один процессор, а огромное семейство чипов, позиционируемое как продукция среднего ценового сегмента. По уровню производительности процессор Intel Core i5 (отзывы многих IT-специалистов подтверждают это) занимает промежуточную позицию между своими "собратьями" - i3 и i7. Каковы отличительные особенности данных чипов? Каковы основные характеристики процессора Intel Core i5, свойственные большинству его модификаций?

Процессор, себя разгоняющий

Можно, к примеру, отметить, что в чипах линейки реализована примечательная технология Turbo Boost. Она подразумевает разгон процессора в автоматическом режиме, в случае если штатных величин, отражающих производительность, становится недостаточно. Также ряд моделей линейки имеет встроенный чип, отвечающий за независимую от видеокарты обработку графики.

Разгон процессора Intel Core i5

Интервал тактовых частот, определяющих производительность процессора Intel Core i5, - 1,2-3,6 ГГц. Показатель скорости обмена данными через DMI более чем приличный - 2,5 ГП/сек. Технология производства чипов различна - есть те, что выпускаются на базе кристаллов в 45 нм, а есть те, в выпуске которых задействуются элементы в 32 нм. Микроархитектура процессоров данной линейки реализуется в двух вариантах - Intel Nehalem и Sandy Bridge. Количество ядер варьируется - 2 или 4, кэш второго уровня - 256 КБ (на 1 ядро), третьего - 4-6 МБ.

Многие IT-специалисты уверены, что можно осуществлять внушительный разгон процессора Intel Core i5 в большинстве его модификаций. Поэтому мы будем изучать особенности этого чипа, соотнося их с перспективами увеличения производительности методом "оверклокинга".

Особенности архитектуры

Рассмотрим для начала некоторые аспекты, отражающие строение процессора. Если вести речь о Sandy Bridge, то следует отметить, что процессор Intel Core i5, отзывы о котором особенно часто встречаются в среде энтузиастов "оверклокинга", - не единственный, где данная архитектура реализована. Sandy Bridge - это основа функционирования также i3 и i7-линеек. Вместе с тем, как отмечают эксперты, особенности данной архитектуры скорее мешают качественному разгону процессора. В связи с чем?

Специфика Sandy Bridge

Дело в том, что определенные ключевые множители, без которых разгон процессора Intel Core i5 затруднителен, во многих моделях чипов, которые оснащены Sandy Bridge, попросту заблокированы. Максимум, на что может рассчитывать "оверклокер" с таким i5 на "вооружении", - это прирост частоты порядка 900 МГц. Для профессионального энтузиаста разгона это не самый выдающийся показатель (хотя для любителя - вполне приемлемый).

Вместе с тем, есть в линейке i5 процессоры, в которых выставлять значения по необходимым множителям можно свободно. К таким чипам относится, например, Intel Core i5-2500K. Теоретически такие модели можно разгонять, как считают некоторые IT-специалисты, до 5 ГГц и выше. Многим экспертам "оверклокинга" также импонирует тот факт, что стоимость процессоров с разблокированными множителями довольно демократична. Это позволяет, например, заплатив порядка 200-250 долларов за процессор, способный хорошо "разгоняться", достичь уровня производительности едва ли не "премиальных" чипов - так считают многие специалисты.

Идеальный процессор для разгона

По версии некоторых экспертов, разгон процессора Intel Core i5 лучше всего производить в той самой модификации i5-2500K. Она и стоит сравнительно недорого - примерно столько, сколько указано выше, и результаты выдает в разогнанном состоянии весьма приличные. В некоторых аспектах "ускорения" данный процессор, как считают некоторые эксперты, вполне сравним с более престижным i7. А если сравнивать их стоимость, то соотношение цены и потенциала роста производительности, как полагают специалисты, делает i5 едва ли не более предпочтительным решением, чем та модель, что новее, но ощутимо дороже.

Разгон процессора

Безусловно, если сравнивать i7 и процессор Intel Core i5, отличия в уровне технологий есть. Например, разный в этих чипах размер кэша третьего уровня. Более старшая модель оснащена 8 МБ, младшая - 6. Однако, как отмечают многие эксперты, практической значимости эта разница в большинстве случаев не имеет.

Intel Core 2500K: особенности

Продолжая описание процессора Intel Core i5 2500K, что является кандидатом на статус самого оптимального для разгона, следует отметить: многие эксперты считают его отлично адаптированным для игровых потребностей. Более того, 4 ядра, которыми оснащен чип, - это предел для многих современных "геймерских" решений. Процессоры, которые поддерживают большее количество одновременно обрабатываемых потоков, далеко не всегда способны обеспечивать реальный рост производительности в играх.

Фактор "железа"

Разумеется, планируя разгон процессора Intel Core i5, "оверклокер" должен заблаговременно обзавестись адекватным предстоящим экспериментам "железом". Аппаратные возможности иных компонентов ПК должны соответствовать производительности процессора. Если мы используем Core i5 2500K, то нам понадобится компьютер, характеристики которого не должны уступать следующим:

- кулер с оборотами не менее 1800 единиц в минуту;

- видеокарта уровня Radeon HD 5870;

- ОЗУ типа DDR3-1600, минимум 4 ГБ;

Тип процессора Intel Core i5

Желательно, чтобы качественная система охлаждения стояла также и на системном блоке.

Фактор софта

Разгон процессора - это, как считают некоторые энтузиасты "оверклокинга", своего рода небольшое исследование. Поэтому пользователю не лишним будет обзавестись также и адекватной "софтверной" составляющей. Если говорить об оптимальной операционной системе, разгонять процессор вполне допустимо в ОС Windows 7. Также необходимо убедиться, что для всех компонентов аппаратного обеспечения установлены свежие драйвера.

Результаты требуют замеров

По части софта важно обзавестись программой для эффективного измерения результатов, которые покажет разгон процессора. На какого рода ПО имеет смысл обратить внимание? Одна из самых универсальных программ, используемых "оверклокерами", - 3D Mark. Она, как считают многие IT-специалисты, дает в достаточной мере объективные результаты по производительности ядра процессора, адекватно сравнивает достигнутые показатели с теми, что показаны другими чипами.

Еще одна полезная утилита - PC Mark. Ее можно задействовать как комплексный вид ПО для тестирования производительности процессора.

Производительность процессора Intel Core i5

В числе самых разносторонних типов ПО для исследования скорости работы ПК (и не только процессора, но и других аппаратных компонентов) - программа SiSoft Sandra. Одним из самых объективных (если говорить об измерении производительности чипов) замеров, что присутствуют в SiSoft Sandra, является арифметический тест. Также полезным могут оказаться результаты криптографических измерений, производимых одним из модулей данной программы.

Некоторые эксперты считают, что архитектура процессора Intel Core i5 неплохо адаптирована к работе в "шахматных" программах. Тем самым, измерить производительность чипа по факту разгона можно исходя из количества производимых им операций в процессе "обдумывания ходов". Программа, которая идеально, по мнению экспертов, подходит для этой цели, - Fritz Chess Benchmark.

Софт, который под рукой

Вышеперечисленные программы - это специлизированный софт для "оверклокинга". Несмотря на то что их использование, как правило, дает вполне достоверные и довольно подробные цифры, позволяющие понять, насколько удачным получился разгон, специалисты рекомендуют задействовать в дополнение также и "обычные" утилиты. Например, архиватор: с помощью ускоренного процессора можно пробовать запаковывать (или производить обратную процедуру) файлы, измеряя, во-первых, общую скорость выполнения операций, а во-вторых, наблюдая за стабильностью работы компьютера в целом.

Может пригодиться и Photoshop - особенно в части операций с изображениями, где применяется наложение фильтров. Такого рода действия весьма прилично нагружают процессор. Если компьютер будет работать при задействовании подобных возможностей Photoshop устойчиво - значит, чип был разогнан в достаточной мере грамотно.

Какие еще утилиты могут пригодиться? Вполне уместным может оказаться, например, такое приложение, как Linpack. Также полезно будет установить утилиту, с помощью которой можно будет вести мониторинг температуры процессора. В качестве таковой можно задействовать программу Real Temp. Также может пригодиться приложение CPU-z для сбора данных о системе.

Игровой фактор

Выше мы отметили, что рассматриваемый нами чип - это игровой процессор. Intel Core i5, если посмотреть на его базовые характеристики (такие как, например, базовая тактовая частота - более 3 ГГц), действительно видится вполне производительным для "геймерских задач". Поэтому при разгоне имеет смысл изучить то, как процессор себя поведет в специализированных программах, имитирующих игровую среду, или же, собственно, сами игры. Во втором случае показатели его производительности можно фиксировать с помощью утилиты FRAPS.

Процессор Intel Core i5 отзывы

Прежде чем начинать тестирование - в программной среде или игровой - процессор Intel Core i5 нужно "замерить" на "заводских" настройках. Зафиксировав цифры в соответствующих видах ПО, можно увеличивать частоту множителей. Как это сделать?

Возможности BIOS

Самый доступный способ "разогнать" процессор - это выставить соответствующие настройки по множителям в BIOS. Для этого перезагружаем ПК и в самом начале запуска компьютера нажимаем DEL - посредством этого действия мы выходим в BIOS. Возможно, конечно, что клавиша входа в систему ввода-вывода будет иной. Но, как правило, нужная подсказка всегда высвечивается на экране. Выглядеть она может примерно так: Press DEL to Enter BIOS. Вместо DEL, таким образом, будет указана иная нужная кнопка, если она отлична от отмеченной.

Игровой процессор Intel Core i5

Войдя в BIOS, находим опцию вида Frequency Control. В ней будут доступны несколько базовых множителей. Нас будут интересовать два - общая частота шины процессора (она выражается в МГц) и, собственно, ее коэффициент. Первый параметр трогать не рекомендуется. Технологический тип процессора Intel Core i5, основанного на архитектуре Sandy Bridge, не слишком совместим с корректировкой параметров системной шины. Тем более, как отмечают эксперты, практически значимого прироста производительности эксперименты с данной настройкой, как правило, не обеспечивают.

Чтобы рост был поступательным

Со вторым из компонентов эксперименты вполне допустимы. Характеристики процессора Intel Core i5-2500K допускают увеличение коэффициента, о котором идет речь, до 57. Однако очень нежелательно выставлять это значение сразу. Следует поднимать цифру постепенно, измеряя результат "разгона" в программах, которые мы рассмотрели выше. Оптимальное стартовое значение множителя - 40. Если система начнет работать нестабильно, можно понизить его.

Характеристики процессора Intel Core i5

Некоторые эксперты советуют "оверклокерам" экспериментировать не только с множителем, но также и с напряжением процессора. Но однозначной точки зрения на этот счет в среде специалистов не наблюдается. Есть и противники данного подхода. В то же время, если пользователь все же пожелает поработать с этим компонентом, то стоит начать с показателя в 1,15 В. Кстати, некоторые специалисты отмечают, что конкретно для процессора Intel Core i5-2500K данная величина напряжения вполне достаточна для достижения оптимальных результатов разгона.

Практические результаты

Какие результаты можно получить от разгона чипа? Может ли существенно повлиять установка процессора Intel Core i5 на игровой компьютер в аспекте роста реальной производительности? Как считают эксперты, результаты могут быть отличные. Установка - оправданной. Многие из IT-специалистов, кто провел соответствующий эксперимент, пришли к выводу, что разгонные возможности процессора особенно примечательны в части рисков перегрева. То есть вполне реально увеличить практическую производительность чипа, при которой температура процессора будет безоговорочно находиться в пределах технологической нормы. Это значит, что в случае необходимости множитель можно увеличить еще. Правда, тогда становится актуальным вопрос о стабильности системы. Ее нужно тестировать, желательно посредством сразу нескольких программ.

Разгон - это шанс реально ускорить работу компьютера без дополнительных вложений. Вполне возможно, таким образом, приобрести бюджетный четырехъядерный процессор Intel Core i5 и увеличить его производительность на порядок, доведя до уровня, сопоставимого с показателями ведущих "премиальных" моделей.

Intel Core i5-7400 - обзор самого доступного 4-ядерного Kaby Lake


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Загрузка...

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *