NVidia GeForce 660 GTX Ti and Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660: reviews, specifications

According to the statements of many users who prefer resource-intensive dynamic games, the video adapter based on NVidia's GeForce 660 chip is the cheapest device that can not only run, but also provide an opportunity to play comfortably at the minimum settings of the application. It should be noted that most modern games in the system requirements recommends the user to have a video card on a GTX 660 chip and above. In this article, the reader will get acquainted with this product, learn the technical characteristics and, thanks to the feedback from the owners, make their own conclusions on the game class representative in the market of computer accessories.

GeForce 660

Positioning on the market for products based on GeForce 660

As expected from the manufacturer, there are two chip modifications on the market. This GTX 660 and its improved version - GTX 660 Ti. However, unlike other NVidia products, these video cards are not built on a single chip, respectively, according to the statements of many professionals, in fact they are different products. All this looks rather strange, but if you shift the focus to the cost of GeForce 660 video cards, it turns out that it is minimal for the High-End class, and performance is maximal for the budget class.

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660

That is, the manufacturer decided once again to erase the line between the two classes of video adapters, creating a semblance of a transition model. Several years ago, NVidia had already set up such an experiment on the example of the 6800 GS 256-bit video card, and the results exceeded all expectations. Apparently, the manufacturer decided to repeat the forgotten success in sales.

Technical characteristics of video cards based on the chip

To make it easier for the reader to understand what the difference and similarity between the two video adapters are, he is invited to see the characteristics of a comparison in the NVidia GeForce 660 chip:

  1. The lightweight GTX 660 version has its own core GK106, while the GTX 660 Ti uses the base of the game segment - GK104.
  2. Let the chips and created by one technical process, but the crystals they are significantly different. GTX 660 chip has an area of ​​221 mm2 and 2540 million transistors, and the modification of Ti - 294 mm2 and 3500 million transistors.
  3. The number of stream processors for the GeForce 660 is 960 total, while the Ti model has their 1344 pieces.
  4. The frequency of the graphics core in GeForce 660 is 908 MHz (in Boost mode 1033 MHz), in GTX 660 Ti it is lower: 915 MHz (1097 MHz Boost).
  5. But the characteristics of the memory are identical: 192-bit bus GDDR5 with a volume of 2048 MB, which has an effective frequency of 6008 MHz, is used.

Mobile version of the graphics core

And if everything is clear with video adapters for personal computers (the lower segment is not able to exceed the performance of the line with a higher level), then with discrete NVidia GeForce 660 video cards for mobile devices, a completely different picture is observed. In the race for high performance in games, the manufacturer, apparently, was very interested in the characteristics of the AMD 6950M chip. Trying to outperform a competitor, they released a mobile GTX 660M chip in their NVidia lab that outperforms their older brother GTX 570M.

Due to the fact that the problem was discovered after the presentation of Asus and HP laptops with new video cards, the new gaming chip did not return to the laboratory. As a result, the buyer turned out to be the winner, who purchased a laptop of the initial game level and discovered an untapped potential in it. As the owners note in their reviews, the mobile video card can handle FullHD resolution with demanding toys Metro 2033 and Crysis 2 (at maximum settings).

The first acquaintance with the video adapter

Unlike other products from NVidia, the GeForce 660 video card is present in the retail sale of some countries. Some sources claim that the manufacturer itself sells stale products at world-famous auctions, while others claim that it is the distributors who specifically create a stir among buyers. In any case, with a special desire, you can find a reference board with the NVidia logo at retail. But the improved modification of the GeForce 660 Ti is not available in retail.

GeForce 660 Ti

The video card comes without the box (OEM) and does not have any accompanying documentation. Even the marking of the device belonging to the 660 series is missing on the grille. Only by removing the protective casing of the cooler, you can see the marking and make sure that the video card is original. The PCB user can detect 6 free video slots. Apparently, this is done with a margin for the future.

Appearance and cooling system

At first glance, the video adapter looks a lot like a representative of the High-End-class, but upon detailed inspection it turns out that the manufacturer simply increased the length of the cooling system casing, and the printed circuit board has a size that is standard for a budget class. On the one hand, this solution has allowed to improve the flow of air into the fan turbine (it is taken from both sides). But, as practice shows, part of the cold flow is dissipated before it hits the radiator grille, respectively, reducing the cooling efficiency.

The NVidia GeForce 660 graphics card itself is solidly assembled: the manufacturer has assembled the power elements together and placed them on the front of the device. There are questions to mounting the radiator on the crystal and memory chips (loosely fit), but the situation can be fixed by installing spring-loaded screws. In general, the impression of the cooling system is good.

The performance of the original NVidia video adapter

If the reader thinks that a representative of the initial game class without modifications of well-known manufacturers in the market of computer components will not be able to show high performance, then he is mistaken. The reference video card NVidia GeForce 660 fits perfectly into all performance graphics, taking place between similar video adapters built on the basis of the same chip (Asus, Gigabyte, Zotac, EVGA and others).

NVidia GeForce 660

But with the overclocking of the video card things are not the best way. The usual raising of the frequency of the graphics core to 3% leads to overheating of the crystal, which displays the "window of death Windows" and restarts the computer. Definitely the whole problem in the cooling system. Therefore, lovers of increasing system performance using overclocking should take a closer look at GTX 660 chips from other manufacturers.

Leader of sales

The representative of Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 can rightfully be considered a popular video adapter in the markets of the former Soviet Union. A worthy title to the product was provided by Taiwanese technologists, who made small changes in the PCB design of the video card and installed a proprietary cooling system. In the market, the buyer may encounter several modifications of the device based on this chip: with a volume of 2 and 3 GB, as well as with an active cooling system consisting of two and three fans.

The changes affected first of all the batteries - all the heating elements were replaced with modern modules that could not be heated (solid-state capacitors, ferrite controllers). Also, the manufacturer made changes to the distribution of the phases of the power supply GeForce 660, separating the power supply of the crystal from the memory modules. The only flaw in the constructors is the presence of several controllers (including memory chips for modifying 3 Gb) on the back of the printed circuit board - they are not cooled at all.

Gigabyte Proprietary Cooling System

Regardless of the model of the device, as well as the amount of RAM, all representatives of the Gigabyte GeForce 660 line (including the modification of Ti) have two types of cooling systems: with two and three fans. Accordingly, the presence of three coolers indicates that the video adapter is ready to cope with overclocking. In the media, opinions on this issue differ. This is due to the presence of uncooled memory modules on the back of the printed circuit board (we are talking about modifications with 3 GB of memory).

video card GeForce 660

In any case, the cooling system still more effectively copes with heating than the NVidia reference device. The aluminum radiator isolates not only the graphics core and memory chips - almost the entire surface of the board is covered with its grille. For effective heat removal, the manufacturer used copper tubes, which are reduced to the contact area with the ends. Owners have no complaints about the fans either: they are big, reliable, silent and perfectly cope with the task set before them.

Performance and overclocking

A decent cooling system allowed the manufacturer of the video card Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 to increase the frequency of the graphics core by almost 100 MHz. But, as noted by the owners of this device, this is far from the limit, and the crystal can continue to be overclocked to 1211 MHz, but as practice shows, the performance gain in synthetic tests and games is not directly proportional to the increase in frequency. Accordingly, it does not make sense to increase the frequency.

The situation with memory modules is not entirely clear - it is impossible to raise the frequencies of their work even on 10 MHz. Artifacts (colored squares) immediately appear on the screen. It turns out that the memory chips themselves at the hardware level simply cannot work faster. It becomes clear what caused the affordable cost of the product in the domestic market (10 000 rubles) - the video card is productive, but it has limitations in overclocking.

Game class representative

Quite different results are expected by fans of Gigabyte products on GeForce 660 Ti. Outwardly, almost identical device, the same cooling system, preliminary factory overclocking, but completely different overclocking behavior. Even when working at regular frequencies (915 MHz by core and 6008 MHz by memory), the video adapter bypasses the high-end class representative — the NVidia GTX 580 model (which is rather strange considering that video cards have the same graphics core).

GeForce 660 reviews

Overclocking for the NVidia GeForce 660 Ti is also better than the younger version. The crystal demonstrates stable operation at a frequency of 1180 MHz, and the memory operates at 6800 MHz. No failures and equipment failures are observed. It turns out that the problem with overclocking the younger model is not at all in the cooling system, but in the hardware of the video card. True, for the prefix "Ti", and accordingly, for the performance with overclocking, the buyer will have to pay 15 000 rubles in the store (one and a half times more than the GTX 660 modification).

Another decent player on the market

The Asus GeForce 660 video adapter is also in demand in the domestic market, however, having seen its cost (12-13 thousand rubles), many buyers switch their attention to products from a cheap segment. And after all, the product of Asus company demonstrates the best performance among all competitors, both in normal operation and in overclocking. In the market, the buyer can meet two modifications of video cards from the Taiwanese manufacturer: TOP and OC. They differ only in a complete set - the TOP model comes with a free game (the buyer chooses an option that interests him from the list).

The standard graphics core frequency is 1020 MHz (overclocking 1212 MHz), but in games and synthetic tests this slight factory overclocking somehow places the video card on top of the GeForce GTX 660-based video adapter rating table. Reviews in the media come down to the fact that the performance is ensured by the installed Hynix memory modules with low response time (0,2 ns).

Asus cooling system

Taking the Asus video card in hand and feeling its weight, any potential buyer will understand what caused the high cost of this representative in the market. Non-ferrous metal in the production of the cooling system at the factory clearly did not regret. An aluminum heatsink covers the entire surface of the motherboard. Copper tubes pass through its gratings and are reduced to a contact area with a crystal. Two huge fans create a powerful air flow, which, passing through the grille, is displayed outside the case through the ventilation grille.

Asus GeForce 660

It is clear that not only the cooling system owes the high performance of the GeForce 660 chip. Characteristics of the device also play an important role: the installation of PWM controllers, replacement of power phase distributors, ferrite cores, and proprietary memory modules — all together made the video adapter more productive.

In conclusion

On devices based on the GeForce 660 graphics chip, reviews are twofold. On the one hand, affordable cost and good performance. On the other - a weak potential for overclocking. It is this modification of video cards that is best viewed in the context of the brand, and not to judge the performance of the chip in the performance of NVidia. After all, the product from the company Asus proved to everyone in the market that intervention in the technological process is capable of bearing fruit. Here it is up to the buyer to decide: to give preference to cheap or high performance.

What is the 2012 graphics card of the year GTX 660 Ti in GTA 5 games The Witcher 3 and Tomb Raider capable of today?


GTX 660 Test in 6 Games (Low - Ultra Settings)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Loading ...

Add a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

NVidia GeForce 660 GTX Ti и Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660: отзывы, характеристики

По заявлениям многих пользователей, отдающих предпочтение ресурсоёмким динамическим играм, видеоадаптер на базе чипа GeForce 660 компании NVidia является самым дешёвым устройством, способным не только запустить, а и предоставить возможность комфортно поиграть на минимальных настройках приложения. Стоит отметить, что большинство современных игр в системных требованиях рекомендует пользователю обладать видеокартой на чипе GTX 660 и выше. В данной статье читатель поближе познакомится с данным продуктом, узнает технические характеристики и, благодаря отзывам владельцев, сделает собственные выводы по представителю игрового класса на рынке компьютерных комплектующих.

GeForce 660

Позиционирование на рынке продуктов на базе GeForce 660

Как и следовало ожидать от производителя, на рынке существуют две модификации чипа. Это GTX 660 и его улучшенная модификация - GTX 660 Ti. Однако, в отличие от других продуктов NVidia, данные видеокарты построены не на одном кристалле, соответственно, по заявлениям многих профессионалов, по факту являются разными продуктами. Выглядит всё это довольно странно, но если сместить фокус на стоимость видеокарт линейки GeForce 660, то окажется, что она является минимальной для класса High-End, а производительность – максимальной для бюджетного класса.

Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660

То есть производитель решился в очередной раз стереть грань между двумя классами видеоадаптеров, создав подобие переходной модели. Несколько лет назад компанией NVidia уже ставился такой эксперимент на примере видеокарты 6800 GS 256-bit, и результаты превзошли все ожидания. По всей видимости, производитель решил повторить забытый успех в продажах.

Технические характеристики видеокарт на базе чипа

Чтобы читателю проще было понять, в чём различие и сходство двух видеоадаптеров, ему предлагается увидеть по чипу NVidia GeForce 660 характеристики в виде сравнения:

  1. Облегчённая версия GTX 660 имеет собственное ядро GK106, в то время как GTX 660 Ti использует базу игрового сегмента – GK104.
  2. Пусть чипы и созданы по одному техническому процессу, но кристаллы у них значительно отличаются. Чип GTX 660 имеет площадь 221 мм2 и 2540 млн транзисторов, а модификация Ti – 294 мм2 и 3500 млн транзисторов.
  3. Количество потоковых процессоров у GeForce 660 всего 960 штук, в то время как у модели Ti их 1344 штуки.
  4. Частота графического ядра у GeForce 660 - 908 МГц (в режиме Boost 1033 МГц), у GTX 660 Ti она меньше: 915 МГц (1097 МГц Boost).
  5. А вот характеристики памяти идентичны: используется 192-битная шина GDDR5 с объёмом 2048 Мб, которая имеет эффективную частоту 6008 МГц.

Мобильная версия графического ядра

И если с видеоадаптерами для персональных компьютеров всё ясно (нижний сегмент не в состоянии превзойти производительность линейки уровнем выше), то с дискретными видеокартами NVidia GeForce 660 для мобильных устройств наблюдается совсем другая картина. В гонке за высокой производительностью в играх, производитель, видимо, сильно увлёкся характеристиками чипа AMD 6950M. Пытаясь превзойти конкурента, в лаборатории NVidia выпустили мобильный чип GTX 660M, который превосходит по производительности своего старшего брата GTX 570M.

Благодаря тому что проблема обнаружилась уже после презентации ноутбуков Asus и HP с новыми видеокартами, новый игровой чип в лабораторию не вернулся. В результате в выигрыше оказался покупатель, который приобрёл ноутбук начального игрового уровня и обнаружил в нём нераскрытый потенциал. Как отмечают владельцы в своих отзывах, мобильная видеокарта способна справиться на разрешении FullHD с ресурсоёмкими игрушками Metro 2033 и Crysis 2 (на максимальных настройках).

Первое знакомство с видеоадаптером

В отличие от других продуктов линейки компании NVidia, видеокарта GeForce 660 присутствует в розничной продаже некоторых государств. Одни источники утверждают, что на известных мировых аукционах сам завод-изготовитель распродаёт залежавшиеся продукты, другие же уверяют, что это дистрибьюторы специально создают ажиотаж среди покупателей. В любом случае при особом желании можно найти референсную плату с логотипом NVidia в розничной продаже. А вот улучшенная модификация GeForce 660 Ti в рознице недоступна.

GeForce 660 Ti

Поставляется видеокарта без коробки (OEM) и не имеет никакой сопроводительной документации. Даже маркировка о принадлежности устройства к 660 серии отсутствует на решётке радиатора. Лишь сняв защитный кожух кулера, можно увидеть маркировку и убедиться, что видеокарта оригинальная. Пользователь на печатной плате может обнаружить 6 свободных разъёмов для видеопамяти. По всей видимости, сделано это с запасом на будущее.

Внешний вид и система охлаждения

На первый взгляд видеоадаптер сильно смахивает на представителя High-End-класса, однако при детальном осмотре оказывается, что производитель просто увеличил длину кожуха системы охлаждения, а печатная плата имеет размер, стандартный для бюджетного класса. С одной стороны, такое решение позволило улучшить приток воздуха в турбину вентилятора (забирается он с обеих сторон). Но, как показывает практика, часть холодного потока рассеивается до попадания на решётку радиатора, соответственно снижая эффективность охлаждения.

Сама плата видеокарты NVidia GeForce 660 собрана добротно: силовые элементы производитель собрал воедино и разместил на передней части устройства. Есть вопросы к монтажу радиатора на кристалл и чипы памяти (слабо прилегают), но ситуацию можно исправить установкой подпружиненных винтов. В целом впечатление о системе охлаждения хорошее.

Производительность оригинального видеоадаптера NVidia

Если читатель думает, что представитель начального игрового класса без доработок известных производителей на рынке компьютерных комплектующих не сможет показать высокую производительность, то он ошибается. Референсная видеокарта NVidia GeForce 660 прекрасно вписывается во все графики производительности, занимая место между аналогичными видеоадаптерами, построенными на базе того же чипа (Asus, Gigabyte, Zotac, EVGA и другие).

NVidia GeForce 660

А вот с разгоном у видеокарты дела обстоят не лучшим образом. Обычное поднятие частоты графического ядра на 3% приводит к перегреву кристалла, который выдаёт «окно смерти Windows» и перезагружает компьютер. Однозначно вся проблема в системе охлаждения. Поэтому любителям увеличивать производительность системы с помощью разгона, стоит присмотреться к чипам GTX 660 других производителей.

Лидер продаж

Представитель Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 по праву может считаться народным видеоадаптером на рынках постсоветского пространства. Достойное звание продукту обеспечили тайваньские технологи, которые внесли небольшие изменения в конструкцию печатной платы видеокарты и установили фирменную систему охлаждения. На рынке покупатель может встретить несколько модификаций устройства на базе данного чипа: с объёмом 2 и 3 Гб, а также с активной системой охлаждения, состоящей из двух и трёх вентиляторов.

Изменения коснулись в первую очередь элементов питания – все нагревающиеся элементы были заменены на современные модули, не поддающиеся нагреву (твердотельные конденсаторы, ферритовые контроллеры). Также производитель внёс изменения в распределение фаз питания GeForce 660, отделив энергообеспечение кристалла от модулей памяти. Единственной недоработкой конструкторов можно считать присутствие нескольких контроллеров (включая чипы памяти для модификации 3 Gb) на обратной стороне печатной платы – они вообще не охлаждаются.

Фирменная система охлаждения Gigabyte

Вне зависимости от модели устройства, а также объёма оперативной памяти, все представители линейки Gigabyte GeForce 660 (включая модификацию Ti) имеют два вида системы охлаждения: с двумя и тремя вентиляторами. Соответственно, наличие трёх кулеров свидетельствует о том, что видеоадаптер готов справиться с разгоном. В средствах массовой информации мнения по данному вопросу расходятся. Виной тому присутствие неохлаждаемых модулей памяти на обратной стороне печатной платы (речь идёт о модификациях с 3 Гб памяти).

видеокарта GeForce 660

В любом случае система охлаждения всё-таки эффективнее справляется с нагревом, нежели референсное устройство NVidia. Алюминиевый радиатор изолирует не только графическое ядро и чипы памяти – практически вся поверхность платы закрывается его решёткой. Для эффективного отвода тепла производитель задействовал медные трубки, которые сводятся концами к контактной площадке. К вентиляторам у владельцев претензий тоже нет: они большие, надёжные, бесшумные и прекрасно справляются с поставленной перед ними задачей.

Производительность и разгон

Достойная система охлаждения позволила производителю видеокарты Gigabyte GeForce GTX 660 увеличить частоту работы графического ядра практически на 100 МГц. Но, как отмечают владельцы данного устройства, это далеко не предел, и кристалл можно продолжать разгонять до 1211 МГц, но как показывает практика прирост производительности в синтетических тестах и играх вовсе не прямо пропорционален увеличению частоты. Соответственно, повышать частоты нет смысла.

Не совсем ясна ситуация и с модулями памяти – поднять частоты их работы невозможно даже на 10 МГц. На экране тут же появляются артефакты (разноцветные квадраты). Получается, что сами чипы памяти на аппаратном уровне просто не могут работать быстрее. Становится понятно, чем обусловлена доступная стоимость продукта на отечественном рынке (10 000 рублей) – видеокарта производительная, но имеет ограничения в разгоне.

Представитель игрового класса

Совсем другие результаты ожидают поклонников продукции Gigabyte на чипе GeForce 660 Ti. Внешне практически идентичное устройство, та же система охлаждения, предварительный заводской разгон, но совсем иное поведение в разгоне. Даже при работе на штатных частотах (915 МГц по ядру и 6008 МГц по памяти) видеоадаптер по производительности в играх обходит представителя High-End -класса - модель NVidia GTX 580 (довольно странно, если учесть, что видеокарты имеют одинаковое графическое ядро).

GeForce 660 отзывы

С разгоном у NVidia GeForce 660 Ti дела обстоят тоже лучше, нежели у младшей модификации. Кристалл демонстрирует стабильную работу на частоте 1180 МГц, а память работает на 6800 МГц. Никаких сбоев и отказов оборудования не наблюдается. Выходит, что проблема с разгоном младшей модели вовсе не в системе охлаждения, а в аппаратной части видеокарты. Правда, за приставку «Ti», а соответственно, и за производительность с разгоном, покупателю придётся отдать в магазине 15 000 рублей (в полтора раза больше, нежели за модификацию GTX 660).

Ещё один достойный игрок на рынке

Видеоадаптер Asus GeForce 660 тоже пользуется спросом на отечественном рынке, правда, увидев его стоимость (12-13 тысяч рублей), многие покупатели переключают внимание на продукты из дешёвого сегмента. А ведь именно продукт компании Asus демонстрирует наилучшие показатели среди всех конкурентов, как в обычном режиме работы, так и в разгоне. На рынке покупатель может встретить две модификации видеокарт от тайваньского производителя: TOP и OC. Отличаются они лишь комплектацией – модель TOP поставляется с бесплатной игрой (покупатель выбирает из списка интересующий его вариант).

Стандартная частота графического ядра составляет 1020 МГц (в разгоне 1212 МГц), однако в играх и синтетических тестах этот незначительный заводской разгон каким-то образом размещает видеокарту на вершине рейтинговой таблицы видеоадаптеров на базе GeForce GTX 660. Отзывы в средствах массовой информации сводятся к тому, что производительность обеспечена установленными модулями памяти Hynix с низким временем отклика (0,2 нс).

Система охлаждения Asus

Взяв видеокарту Asus в руки и ощутив её вес, любой потенциальный покупатель поймёт, чем обусловлена высокая стоимость данного представителя на рынке. Цветного металла в производстве системы охлаждения на заводе явно не пожалели. Алюминиевый радиатор закрывает всю поверхность системной платы. Сквозь его решётки проходят медные трубки, которые сводятся на контактной с кристаллом площадке. Два огромных вентилятора создают мощный поток воздуха, который, проходя по решёткам радиатора, выводится за пределы корпуса через вентиляционную решётку.

Asus GeForce 660

Понятно, что не только системе охлаждения обязана высокая производительность чипа GeForce 660. Характеристики устройства также играют немаловажную роль: установка ШИМ-контроллеров, замена распределителей фаз питания, ферритовые сердечники, фирменные модули памяти – всё в совокупности сделало видеоадаптер более производительным.

В заключение

Об устройствах на базе графического чипа GeForce 660 отзывы носят двоякий характер. С одной стороны, доступная стоимость и неплохая производительность. С другой - слабый потенциал к разгону. Именно эту модификацию видеокарт лучше рассматривать в разрезе бренда, а не судить о производительности чипа в исполнении NVidia. Ведь продукт от компании Asus доказал всем на рынке, что вмешательство в технологический процесс способно приносить плоды. Тут уже покупателю решать: отдать предпочтение дешевизне или высокой производительности.

На что способна сегодня видеокарта 2012 года GTX 660 Ti в играх GTA 5 Ведьмак 3 и Tomb Raider


GTX 660 Test in 6 Games (Low - Ultra Settings)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Загрузка...

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *