SMA connector: description, purpose, device classification

The SMA connector was developed in 1960 for the RG-402 semi-rigid cable (0,141 inch). These connectors are designed for 50 ohm resistance and frequency up to 18 GHz (individual precision versions can operate at frequencies up to 26,5 GHz). The SMA connector has a 1 / 4-36 threaded connection, mechanical durability and compact dimensions. The maximum operating frequency for cable connectors depends on the type of wire.sma connector

appointment

High-frequency SMA-connector has a very wide scope, the key parameters of which are dimensions and cut-off frequency. In phased-array radars, instrumentation, instrument landing systems, as well as other devices that use phase matching, such connectors for coaxial semi-rigid cables, as well as special adapters (plug connectors) are a simple precision means of phase control.

The SMA connector, manufactured in accordance with the requirements of the standard, is compatible with all connectors (regardless of manufacturer) that meet this specification and have the same diameter. They are used in many microwave devices: microstrip and coaxial-wave transitions, attenuators, amplifiers, master oscillators, switches, mixers and filters.antenna sma connector

Types of connectors

There are two types of SMA connectors: SMA (“socket” and “plug”) and RP-SMA (also “socket” and “plug”).

In wireless devices (Wi-Fi access point, WiMAX-device, adapter) there is a connector to which the antenna is connected (SMA or N-Type connector). Since this connection consists of two parts, all connectors with a threaded mechanism are two types, paired with each other: sockets and plugs. That is, the latter is screwed into the socket. The terms "mother", "jack" or "female" are used to designate the outlet, and for plug - "male", "plug" or "male".

There are various adapters and adapter cables between different types of connectors.

The second type of connectors are RP-SMA connectors (with reverse polarity or inverse). In such connectors, the opposite is true: the plug has a female contact, but the socket has a plug. Inverse connectors have a modified configuration in the center pin.rp sma connectors

Connector Classification

By the method of connection, the considered connectors are divided into devices with a threaded and bayonet connection. By way of mounting, connectors are screwed, brazed and crimped. By design, there are instrument, cable, PCB-mounted high-frequency connectors, as well as adapters.

Instrumentation devices are mounted on the housing with a square flange or nut. Cable installation is carried out by soldering or crimping. The connectors mounted on the board are fixed by soldering vertically or horizontally to the surface. Cable connectors are fixed by crimping or soldering. Adapters are used to connect different types of connectors.

Conclusion

In computer technology, SMA connectors are widely used in the organization of antennas Wi-Fi devices. They provide a very reliable contact, and also minimize the losses occurring in the joints. The main characteristics of such connectors - durability and resistance to mechanical loads.

RF adapter for radio from SMA male to N type female connector


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Loading ...

Add a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

SMA-разъем: описание, назначение, классификация устройства

SMA-разъем был разработан в 1960 году для полужесткого кабеля типа RG-402 (0,141 дюйм). Эти коннекторы рассчитаны на сопротивление 50 Ом и частоту до 18 ГГц (отдельные прецизионные версии способны работать с частотой до 26,5 ГГц). SMA-разъем имеет резьбовое соединение 1/4-36, механическую долговечность и компактные размеры. Максимальное значение рабочей частоты для кабельных разъемов зависит от типа провода.sma разъем

Назначение

Высокочастотный SMA-разъем имеет весьма широкую область применения, ключевыми параметрами которой являются габариты и граничная частота. В радарах с фазированной решеткой, измерительной аппаратуре, системах посадки по приборам, а также у других устройств, которые используют фазовое согласование, такие коннекторы для коаксиальных полужестких кабелей, а также специальные адаптеры (штепсельные соединители) представляют собой простое прецизионное средство фазового регулирования.

SMA-разъем, изготовленный в соответствии с требованиями стандарта, совместим со всеми соединителями (независимо от производителя), которые отвечают данной спецификации и имеют такой же диаметр. Они используются во многих сверхвысокочастотных устройствах: микрополосковые и коаксиально-волновые переходы, аттенюаторы, усилители, задающие генераторы, переключатели, смесители и фильтры.антенна разъем sma

Типы коннекторов

Существует два типа SMA-разъемов: SMA («гнездо» и «штекер») и RP-SMA (также «гнездо» и «штекер»).

В беспроводных приборах (точка доступа Wi-Fi, WiMAX-устройства, адаптер) имеется коннектор, к которому подключается антенна (разъем SMA или N-Type). Поскольку такое соединение складывается из двух частей, то все разъемы с резьбовым механизмом представляют собой два вида, парных друг другу: розетки и вилки. То есть последняя вкручивается в гнездо. Для обозначения розетки используются термины “мама”, “jack” или “female”, а для вилки – “папа”, “plug” или “male”.

Существуют различные переходники и кабели-переходники между разными типами коннекторов.

Второй тип соединителей – это разъемы RP-SMA (с обратной полярностью или инверсные). В таких коннекторах все наоборот: штекер имеет гнездовой контакт, а вот розетка – вилочный. В инверсных разъемах изменена конфигурация в центральном выводе.разъемы rp sma

Классификация коннекторов

По способу соединения рассматриваемые разъемы делятся на устройства с резьбовым и байонетным соединением. По способу монтажа коннекторы бывают накручивающимися, паяными и обжимными. По конструктивному исполнению различают приборные, кабельные, монтируемые на печатную плату высокочастотные разъемы, а также переходники.

Приборные устройства крепятся на корпус при помощи квадратного фланца или гайки. Монтаж кабеля осуществляется методом пайки или обжима. Коннекторы, монтируемые на плату, крепят пайкой вертикально или горизонтально поверхности. Кабельные разъемы фиксируют при помощи обжима или пайки. Переходники применяются для соединения разнотипных коннекторов.

Заключение

В компьютерной технике SMA-разъемы нашли широкое применение в организации антенн Wi-Fi устройств. Они обеспечивают весьма надежный контакт, а также сводят до минимума потери, возникающие в местах соединения. Основные характеристики таких коннекторов – долговечность и устойчивость к механическим нагрузкам.

ВЧ переходник для рации с разъема SMA male на N type female


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Загрузка...

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *