Why does a cat need a tail? What is the meaning of a tail for a cat?

Cats are considered one of the most common pets. Since antiquity, they accompany a person, protecting his home from rodents and bringing him peace and good mood. Despite this, cats were and remain one of the most mysterious pets. After all, even after living many years in the neighborhood with his pet, a person can tell about him and his habits not so much. For example, not every professional breeder, not to mention a simple man in the street, clearly understands why a cat has a mustache and a tail and how it uses these organs.

Beauty and charm

For most owners, these qualities are decisive when choosing a domestic cat. Less and less animals are used to fight rodents and more often they are perceived as living toys. But even if the kitten was born and grew up in ideal conditions, in the third generation did not see the street and never needed anything, the instincts of the wild beast will still wake up, at least occasionally.

It is for this reason that the domestic fluffy sometimes grieve their masters with little pranks, tearing apart soft toys, scratching wallpapers or jumping on curtains. This happens even with the most thoroughbred individuals. After all, no matter how cute, affectionate and good-natured the kitten may be, it is primarily a predator. And only then - a universal favorite, a living toy or decoration of the sofa in the living room.

And yet, why is it needed?

why should a cat tailThe value of a tail for a cat as for a hunter living in the wild cannot be overestimated. This body is used by the beast in absolutely different ways, depending on the circumstances and the situation. It is well known that, looking at a cat's tail, one can easily understand the mood of its owner, what is on his mind and what actions he intends to take in the near future. That is, this part of the body is considered as an indicator of mood.

But it turns out that this is not all the functions. During a fight for territory, a female or something else, cats often sort things out with the help of sounds and their own body, including the tail. It does not often come to the real struggle. As a rule, the winner is the one who has a curved back or a furry tail.

And the tail allows the animal to navigate in the dark in space (in conjunction with the mustache) and balance while jumping, climbing trees or fences.

Tail and cat mood

According to ethologists, cats never hide their thoughts and attitudes to what is happening. And in order to understand what exactly the animal thinks and how it reacts, it is necessary to take a close look at it. That is why the cat's tail is for explaining to others its intentions, mood or state of health.

Why does a cat have a mustache and a tailSo, if the animal is comfortable, it rests or just sits, feeling safe, then this organ will lie straight, without movement, or twist its paws. Raising the tail vertically up (or slightly bending it, like a question mark), the cat shows its friendliness. Thus, she makes it clear to man or other animals that she is glad to see them.

Quite often it is possible to observe a picture when the cat, it would seem, was going about his business, but suddenly he stopped, as if thinking. If the tip of the tail is twitching a little, the animal has seen or heard something curious and is trying to understand what is happening, showing its interest.

However, such behavior when stroking wool should alert the person. Especially if all the attention paid to the hand. The cat is not angry, but believes that it flirt with it, so it can respond with teeth or claws.

Animals also show playfulness or sexual arousal with their tail, smoothly moving their entire limbs. Moreover, the greater the amplitude and the more insistent the wagging, the more pronounced it becomes. However, sudden jerks do not occur.

why does a cat need a tailWhen an animal is angry or irritated, it immediately becomes clear why the cat needs a tail. He begins to twitch from side to side, with all his appearance showing nervousness. If the cat is angry, the tail fluffs and hangs to the side. In this case, the beast arches its back and can growl or hiss, trying to chase the enemy. From the animal in this position is better to stay away.

Balancing

Cats perfectly climb trees, jump and successfully fall from a decent height. Maneuvering during the flight with the whole body and especially the tail, the animal always lands on its paws. Thanks to this feature, a fall from an 2, 3 or even 5 floor often ends in nothing more than a fright. That's why the cat tail - to jump far and land successfully. Moving along a thin branch or board and balancing them, the animal perfectly keeps its balance. But this does not mean at all that a cat without a tail will not be able to jump far or will certainly break when it falls. In some breeds, this organ is very short or completely absent. It happens that a cat loses it as a result of injury or other circumstances. Over time, the animal adapts and continues, though not so comfortable, but quite full life.

tail value for cat

On the hunt

Watching the animal chasing prey, you can immediately understand why a cat needs a tail. After all, it is with his help that she can dramatically change the trajectory and overtake the target. During the hunt or chase cats often use the tail as a rudder, which allows you to perform sharp maneuvers without slowing down, not to mention jumping.

This technique is used and larger representatives of the fauna in the wild. Large cats (leopards, cheetahs, tigers) have tails that are much longer and stronger than ordinary pets. And they use them in full force, controlling their body in pursuit of prey and during long complex jumps.

Both a blanket and a blanket

In addition to balancing and communication, there are other (less remarkable) options for the use of the cat's own tail. In the summer heat, for example, you can see how an animal, stretched out in the shade, slightly shakes it over its own body. Thus, the cat tries to cool down, moving air currents and creating a semblance of the wind (according to the principle of the vane).

cat without a tailIf the room is cold, the animal coils, trying to minimize heat transfer. In this case, the tail is often twisted around the body and covers the muzzle. It turns out that the animal uses the heat of its own wool on the principle of a blanket, covering the frozen areas (nose, paws).

It turns out that the question “why does the cat tail” does not have a definite answer. It is not only beautiful, but also an extremely important organ, serving as a means of communication and balance, a fan and a blanket, and sometimes even a toy for the young. Knowing exactly how the animal applies it, and understanding what it wants to say with one movement or another, the owner can significantly improve their relationship with the pet.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Loading ...

Add a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Зачем кошке хвост? Каково значение хвоста для кошки?

Кошки считаются одними из наиболее распространенных домашних животных. С древности они сопровождают человека, охраняя его жилище от грызунов и принося в него покой и хорошее настроение. Несмотря на это, кошки были и остаются одними из самых загадочных питомцев. Ведь, даже прожив много лет по соседству со своим домашним любимцем, человек может рассказать о нем и его повадках не так уж много. К примеру, не каждый профессиональный заводчик, не говоря уже о простом обывателе, четко представляет, зачем кошке усы и хвост и как она пользуется этими органами.

Красота и очарование

Для большинства хозяев именно эти качества являются решающими при выборе домашнего кота. Все реже животные используются для борьбы с грызунами и все чаще их воспринимают в качестве живых игрушек. Но даже если котенок родился и вырос в идеальных условиях, в третьем поколении не видел улицы и никогда ни в чем не нуждался, инстинкты дикого зверя в нем все равно будут просыпаться, хотя бы изредка.

Именно по этой причине домашние пушистики иногда огорчают своих хозяев маленькими шалостями, раздирая на части мягкие игрушки, царапая обои или прыгая по шторам. Это случается даже с самыми породистыми особями. Ведь каким бы милым, ласковым и добродушным ни был котенок, он в первую очередь является хищником. А уже потом – всеобщим любимцем, живой игрушкой или украшением дивана в гостиной.

И все-таки зачем он нужен

зачем кошке хвостЗначение хвоста для кошки как для охотника, живущего в дикой природе, сложно переоценить. Этот орган используется зверем абсолютно по-разному, в зависимости от обстоятельств и ситуации. Общеизвестно, что, глядя на кошачий хвост, можно с легкостью понять, в каком расположении духа находится его владелец, что у него на уме и какие действия он намерен предпринять в ближайшее время. То есть данную часть тела рассматривают в качестве индикатора настроения.

Но оказывается, это далеко не все функции. Во время драки за территорию, самку или что-то еще коты часто выясняют отношения при помощи звуков и собственного тела, включая хвост. До настоящей борьбы доходит не часто. Как правило, побеждает тот, у кого круче выгнута спина или пушистее хвост.

А еще хвост позволяет животному ориентироваться в темное время суток в пространстве (в совокупности с усами) и балансировать во время прыжков, лазанья по деревьям или заборам.

Хвост и кошачье настроение

По мнению этологов, кошки никогда не скрывают своих мыслей и отношения к происходящему. А чтобы понять, что именно думает животное и как оно реагирует, необходимо к нему внимательно присмотреться. Вот зачем кошке хвост – для объяснения окружающим своих намерений, настроения или самочувствия.

зачем кошке усы и хвостТак, если животному комфортно, оно отдыхает или просто сидит, ощущая безопасность, то и этот орган будет лежать прямо, без движения, либо обвивать лапы. Подняв хвост вертикально вверх (или же слегка его выгнув, наподобие вопросительного знака), кошка демонстрирует свое дружелюбие. Таким образом она дает понять человеку или другим животным, что рада их видеть.

Довольно часто можно наблюдать картину, когда кот, казалось бы, шел по своим делам, но вдруг остановился, как бы задумавшись. Если кончик хвоста при этом немного дергается, животное увидело или услышало нечто любопытное и пытается понять, что происходит, показывая свой интерес.

Однако подобное поведение при поглаживании шерсти должно насторожить человека. Особенно если все внимание обращено на руку. Кошка не злится, но считает, что с ней заигрывают, поэтому может ответить зубами или когтями.

Игривость или сексуальное возбуждение животные тоже показывают хвостом, плавно двигая всей конечностью. Причем чем больше амплитуда и настойчивее виляние, тем сильнее оно проявляется. Однако резких рывков не происходит.

зачем кошке нужен хвостКогда животное сердится или раздражено, сразу становится ясно, зачем кошке нужен хвост. Он начинает дергаться из стороны в сторону, всем своим видом показывая нервозность. Если кот в ярости, хвост распушается и свешивается набок. При этом зверь выгибает спину и может зарычать или зашипеть, стараясь прогнать противника. От животного в этой позе лучше держаться подальше.

Балансировка

Кошки прекрасно лазают по деревьям, прыгают и удачно падают с приличной высоты. Лавируя во время полета всем телом и в особенности хвостом, животное всегда приземляется на лапы. Благодаря этой особенности падение со 2-го, 3-го или даже 5-го этажа часто заканчивается не более чем легким испугом. Вот зачем кошке хвост – чтобы далеко прыгать и удачно приземляться. Двигаясь по тонкой ветке или доске и балансируя им, зверек прекрасно держит равновесие. Но это вовсе не означает, что кошка без хвоста не сможет далеко прыгнуть или непременно разобьется при падении. У некоторых пород этот орган совсем короткий или вообще отсутствует. Бывает, что кошка теряет его в результате травмы или иных обстоятельств. Со временем животное приспосабливается и продолжает, хоть и не столь комфортную, но вполне полноценную жизнь.

значение хвоста для кошки

На охоте

Наблюдая за тем, как животное гонится за добычей, сразу же можно понять, зачем кошке хвост. Ведь именно с его помощью она может резко изменить траекторию и настигнуть цель. Во время охоты или погони коты нередко используют хвост в качестве руля, что позволяет совершать резкие маневры, не снижая скорости, не говоря уже о прыжках.

Данная техника применяется и более крупными представителями фауны в дикой природе. У больших кошек (леопардов, гепардов, тигров) хвосты намного длиннее и крепче, чем у обычных домашних любимцев. И пользуются они ими в полную силу, управляя своим телом в погоне за добычей и при затяжных сложных прыжках.

И опахало, и одеяло

Помимо балансировки и общения, существуют и другие (менее примечательные) варианты использования кошкой собственного хвоста. В летнюю жару, например, можно видеть, как животное, вытянувшись в тени, слегка покачивает им над собственным телом. Таким образом кот старается охладиться, перемещая потоки воздуха и создавая подобие ветра (по принципу опахала).

кошка без хвостаЕсли в помещении холодно, зверек сворачивается клубком, пытаясь минимизировать теплоотдачу. При этом хвост часто обвивается вокруг тела и накрывает мордочку. Получается, что животное использует тепло собственной шерсти по принципу одеяла, накрывая замерзшие участки (нос, лапы).

Получается, что на вопрос «зачем кошке хвост» нет однозначного ответа. Это не просто красивый, но еще и крайне важный орган, служащий средством коммуникации и балансиром, опахалом и одеялом, а порой даже игрушкой для детенышей. Зная, как именно животное его применяет, и понимая, что оно хочет сказать тем или иным движением, владелец может существенно улучшить свои взаимоотношения с питомцем.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Загрузка...

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *