“Covinan” for cats: instructions and reviews

All cat owners are faced with the phenomenon when a cute fluffy little ball turns into a screaming and fragrant creature placed everywhere. It is in the pet wakes up the breeding instinct. One of the most common questions that cat owners ask a veterinarian is “what to do so that she doesn’t ask the cat?”. The most reliable way is sterilization, but not all owners decide on it because of the complexity and high cost of the operation. There are many more different drugs, for example, Sex-barrier, Stop-intim and others. But they all have a temporary effect and soon cease to act on the animal. In this case, the exit for many owners becomes “Covinan” for cats. This injection protects pets for a long time from the problems associated with “sexual hunting”. Among the "cat owner" she got the name "magic injection."Covin Cat Drug

What is "Kovinan"

This is a veterinary hormonal drug in the form of a suspension, intended for injection. Its action is based on the main component - a synthetic analogue of the female hormone progesterone. This is proligestone, which is contained in 1 ml of 100 mg. The basis of the suspension is distilled water. In addition to the hormone, substances that improve its penetration and absorption are dissolved in it: dihydrogen phosphate, sodium citrite, sorbitan, and others. Doctors do not recommend the need for an animal injection. After all, this drug, like other hormonal drugs, is quite dangerous and can cause negative effects.catman for cats

What is Kovinan used for?

This medicine is most commonly used to prevent estrus in a cat. Hormonal drugs used in the event that the owners are planning to someday get from her offspring. They protect the animal from unwanted pregnancy. Many have heard about this effect of the drug and use it on their own, not knowing about the features of the action. After all, veterinarians use "Kovinan" in such cases:

  • to prevent the manifestation of sexual instinct in cats;
  • to prevent the development of false pregnancy and pseudolactation;
  • in the complex treatment of false pregnancy;
  • in the case when the bearing of offspring is dangerous for the health and life of the animal.

As a contraceptive “Kovinan” for cats, it is advisable to use to provide rest to pedigree manufacturers in nurseries. Do not do without such a tool and those animals that are medically prohibited from surgical sterilization.Covin for cats instructions for use

The composition and characteristics of the drug

The main active ingredient "Kovinana" - is proligeston. This synthetic hormone prevents estrus. It acts in several directions: it reduces the concentration of luteinizing hormone, increases the viscosity of mucus in the uterus and inhibits the activity of the mammary glands. This all provides contraception to the animal. In addition, proligeston has the following effect:

  • inhibits follicle development, which prevents estrus;
  • blocks the production of estradiol and other sex hormones;
  • in addition to effects on the pituitary gland and estrogen receptors, can change the metabolism in tissues.

"Kovinan" for cats: instructions for use

The drug is administered strictly subcutaneously. Injections into the deep layers of the skin or into muscle tissue should be avoided. Therefore, it is better if a specialist inject “Kovinan” for cats. In addition, it is important to accurately follow the dosage depending on the purpose of the drug. To prevent sexual hunting, it is used in this dosage: 7 ml of suspension is administered to an animal weighing up to 1 a kilogram, and a larger one, 1,5 ml. In the treatment of pseudo-pregnancy, 1 ml of the drug is used, regardless of the weight of the cat. After the introduction of the drug, the sexual cycle in a cat is restored somewhere in six months. In order to avoid a single heat, the drug is administered once a month before its intended onset.Covin cat manual

Long-term contraception with Covinan

Sometimes injections are used to get a lasting effect. In this case, the drug provides in the animal's body a very low concentration of luteinizing hormone and, accordingly, sexual rest. Proligestone can accumulate in fat cells and have a long lasting effect. To do this, you need to regularly inject the drug "Kovin" for cats. The instruction recommends moving them according to the following scheme:

  1. The first injection should be done after the end of estrus in an animal or a month before its intended start.
  2. Repeat the injection need in three months.
  3. The next injection of Covinan is through 4 of the month.
  4. All further treatment is regular injections every 5 months.

It happens that against the background of the use of the drug, cats still show signs of estrus. In this case, you must immediately make an extraordinary injection. After that, further injections are continued according to the scheme, but the first must be done earlier in a month.

Who should not give an injection

Despite the "magic" properties of the drug, not all owners can use it. It is desirable that the injection of “Covinan” be made in the veterinary clinic. Cats are examined before the injection, because the drug has many contraindications. You can not use it:

  • during estrus;
  • pregnant and lactating animals;
  • those who have diseases of the genitourinary system;
  • young cats before the first heat;
  • those with vaginal discharge;
  • animals treated with hormone preparations containing progestogens and estrogens.

Precautions need to treat cats with diabetes. In this case, you must constantly monitor the level of glucose.Covin's injection for cats

Side effects of the drug

The owner of the cats who want to find the "magic" means of preventing sex hunting, it is important to know that such drugs can not be completely safe. In addition, it is necessary to observe special rules when conducting the injection, it is necessary to carry out treatment only after consulting with a specialist. He will warn you about the danger of “Covinan” for cats. Side effects are not as common, but they are rather unpleasant both for the animal and its owner:

  • many cats have an increased appetite, and they begin to gain weight;
  • some owners note the lethargy and apathy of the animal after treatment;
  • mammary glands may increase and even develop a tumor;
  • sometimes there is purulent inflammation of the uterus;
  • endocrine system activity may be disrupted;
  • among local reactions, hair loss or clarification at the injection site is observed.

Feature of application

Unfortunately, some unscrupulous doctors sometimes give an injection to an animal, despite contraindications. They succumb to the persuasion of the owner, who is tired of the howls of the cat and asks to do at least something. As a result, side effects occur. After all, the use of hormonal drugs is still unsafe. catman for cats reviewsTherefore, doctors recommend that those owners who decide to use "Covinan" for cats, do it right:

  • the drug is injected strictly subcutaneously, it should not be allowed to fall into the soft tissue;
  • injection should be done only in the absence of heat;
  • Before injection, the vial with the suspension should be shaken well, and the injection site should be thoroughly wiped with alcohol;
  • A person giving an injection should take precautions to prevent the medicine from getting into the mouth or mucous membranes.

Does the cat's behavior change after “Kovinana”?

This question interests all owners who come to the veterinary clinic with a similar problem. Not always doctors can give a detailed answer and explain everything in detail. Therefore, it is advisable to know in advance what effect the drug "Kovinan". Cats after its use become more docile and calm. Techka no longer bothers them, so the tenants do not suffer from the concert of neighboring cats. The animal becomes obedient and does not run away.covinan for cats side effects

Reviews about the drug

There are animals for which Kovinan has been constantly injected for several years. They feel good, and the owners are happy in general. They note that the cat has become calm and docile. But doctors do not recommend treating the drug for life. With age, the animal is more able to get complications.

Not everyone likes “Covinan” for cats. Reviews of the drug, there are negative. Some owners say that treatment is quite expensive, and the scheme of its use is complicated. The injection causes severe pain to the animal, so the cat will bite and break out.

There are negative reviews not about the medication itself, but to the veterinarians. Some doctors do an injection without warning the owners about the possible consequences and not having examined the cat. Therefore, the owners of the animal must know when it is impossible to do the injection, because they will have to cope with its consequences.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Loading ...

Add a comment

Your e-mail will not be published. Required fields are marked *

“Ковинан” для кошек: инструкция и отзывы

Все владельцы кошек сталкиваются с таким явлением, когда милый пушистый комочек превращается в орущее и ставящее везде пахучие метки существо. Это в питомце просыпается инстинкт размножения. Один из наиболее частых вопросов, которые задают хозяева кошек ветеринару, - это "что сделать, чтобы она не просила кота?". Самым надежным способом является стерилизация, но не все владельцы на нее решаются из-за сложности и дороговизны операции. Есть еще много разных препаратов, например, «Секс-барьер», «Стоп-интим» и другие. Но все они оказывают временный эффект и скоро перестают действовать на животное. В этом случае выходом для многих владельцев становится «Ковинан» для кошек. Эта инъекция надолго защищает питомцев от проблем, связанных с «половой охотой». Среди «кошатников» она получила название «волшебный укол».препарат ковинан кошки

Что собой представляет «Ковинан»

Это ветеринарный гормональный препарат в форме суспензии, предназначенный для инъекций. Его действие основано на главном компоненте - синтетическом аналоге женского гормона прогестерона. Это пролигестон, которого содержится в 1 мл препарата 100 мг. Основой суспензии является дистиллированная вода. Кроме гормона, в ней растворены вещества, улучшающие его проникновение и усвоение: дигидрофосфат, цитрит натрия, сорбитан и другие. Врачи не рекомендуют без необходимости делать животному укол. Ведь этот препарат, как и другие гормональные средства, довольно опасен и может вызвать негативные последствия.ковинан для кошек

Для чего применяют "Ковинан"

Чаще всего используется это лекарство для предотвращения течки у кошки. Гормональные препараты применяют в том случае, если хозяева планируют когда-нибудь получить от нее потомство. Они защищают животное от нежелательной беременности. Многие наслышаны о таком эффекте лекарства и используют его самостоятельно, не зная об особенностях действия. Ведь ветеринары применяют «Ковинан» в таких случаях:

  • чтобы предотвратить проявления полового инстинкта у кошек;
  • для профилактики развития ложной беременности и псевдолактации;
  • в комплексном лечении ложной беременности;
  • в том случае, когда вынашивание потомства опасно для здоровья и жизни животного.

В качестве контрацептивного средства «Ковинан» для кошек целесообразно использовать для предоставления отдыха породистым производителям в питомниках. Не обойтись без такого средства и тем животным, которым по медицинским показаниям запрещено проводить хирургическую стерилизацию.ковинан для кошек инструкция по применению

Состав и особенности действия препарата

Основное действующее вещество «Ковинана» - это пролигестон. Этот синтетический гормон предотвращает появление течки. Он действует в нескольких направлениях: снижает концентрацию лютеинизирующего гормона, повышает вязкость слизи в матке и угнетает деятельность молочных желез. Это все обеспечивает контрацепцию животному. Кроме того, пролигестон оказывает и такое действие:

  • тормозит развитие фолликула, что предотвращает появление течки;
  • блокирует выработку эстрадиола и других половых гормонов;
  • кроме воздействия на гипофиз и рецепторы эстрогена, способен изменять обмен веществ в тканях.

«Ковинан» для кошек: инструкция по применению

Препарат вводится строго подкожно. Нужно избегать инъекций в глубокие слои кожи или в мышечную ткань. Поэтому лучше, если укол «Ковинан» для кошек сделает специалист. Кроме того, важно точно соблюдать дозировку в зависимости от целей применения препарата. Для предотвращения половой охоты его применяют в такой дозировке: животному весом до 7 килограмм вводится 1 мл суспензии, более крупным – 1,5 мл. В лечении псевдобеременности применяется 1 мл препарата вне зависимости от веса кошки. После введения препарата половой цикл у кошки восстанавливается где-то через полгода. Для того чтобы избежать одной течки, препарат вводится однократно за месяц до ее предполагаемого начала.ковинан для кошек инструкция

Длительная контрацепция с помощью «Ковинана»

Иногда уколы используются для получения стойкого эффекта. В этом случае препарат обеспечивает в организме животного очень низкую концентрацию лютеинизирующего гормона и, соответственно, – половой покой. Пролигестон способен накапливаться в жировых клетках и оказывать длительное действие. Для этого нужно регулярно делать инъекции препарата «Ковинан» для кошек. Инструкция рекомендует поводить их по следующей схеме:

  1. Первый укол нужно сделать после окончания течки у животного или за месяц до предполагаемого ее начала.
  2. Повторить инъекцию нужно через три месяца.
  3. Следующий укол «Ковинана» - через 4 месяца.
  4. Все дальнейшее лечение заключается в регулярных уколах каждые 5 месяцев.

Бывает, что на фоне применения препарата у кошки все же появляются признаки течки. В этом случае нужно сразу сделать внеочередной укол. После этого дальнейшие инъекции продолжаются по схеме, но первый нужно сделать раньше на месяц.

Кому нельзя делать инъекцию

Несмотря на «волшебные» свойства препарата, не все хозяева могут воспользоваться им. Желательно, чтобы именно в ветеринарной клинике делался укол «Ковинан». Кошек перед инъекцией обследуют, потому что у препарата есть много противопоказаний. Нельзя его применять:

  • во время течки;
  • беременным и кормящим животным;
  • тем, у кого есть заболевания мочеполовой системы;
  • молодым кошкам перед первой течкой;
  • тем, у которых наблюдаются вагинальные выделения;
  • животным, которые проходили лечение гормональными препаратами, содержащими прогестогены и эстрогены.

С осторожностью нужно проводить лечение кошкам с сахарным диабетом. В этом случае необходимо постоянно контролировать уровень глюкозы.укол ковинан для кошек

Побочные действия препарата

Тем владельцем кошек, которые хотят найти «волшебное» средство, предотвращающее половую охоту, важно знать, что такие препараты не могут быть полностью безопасными. Кроме того, что нужно соблюдать особые правила при проведении инъекции, стоит проводить лечение только после консультации со специалистом. Он предупредит, чем может быть опасен «Ковинан» для кошек. Побочные эффекты проявляются не так часто, но они довольно неприятны и для животного, и для его владельца:

  • у многих кошек усиливается аппетит, и они начинают набирать вес;
  • некоторые владельцы отмечают вялость и апатичность животного после лечения;
  • могут увеличиться молочные железы и даже развиться опухоль;
  • иногда случается гнойное воспаление матки;
  • может нарушиться деятельность эндокринной системы;
  • среди местных реакций наблюдается выпадение или осветление шерсти в месте укола.

Особенности применения

К сожалению, некоторые недобросовестные врачи иногда делают животному инъекцию, несмотря на противопоказания. Они поддаются уговорам хозяина, который устал от воплей кошки и просит сделать хоть что-нибудь. В результате проявляются побочные действия. Ведь применение гормональных препаратов все-таки небезопасно. ковинан для кошек отзывыПоэтому врачи рекомендуют тем хозяевам, которые решили применять «Ковинан» для кошек, делать это правильно:

  • препарат вводится строго подкожно, нельзя допускать, чтобы он попадал в мягкие ткани;
  • укол нужно делать только при отсутствии течки;
  • перед инъекцией флакончик с суспензией нужно хорошо встряхнуть, а место инъекции тщательно протереть спиртом;
  • человек, делающий укол, должен соблюдать меры предосторожности, чтобы лекарство не попало в рот или на слизистые.

Меняется ли поведение кошки после «Ковинана»

Этот вопрос интересует всех хозяев, приходящих в ветлечебницу с подобной проблемой. Не всегда врачи могут дать обстоятельный ответ и все подробно объяснить. Поэтому желательно заранее узнать, какое действие оказывает препарат «Ковинан». Кошки после его применения становятся более покладистыми и спокойными. Течка их больше не беспокоит, поэтому жильцы дома не страдают от концерта соседских котов. Животное становится послушным и не убегает.ковинан для кошек побочные эффекты

Отзывы о препарате

Есть животные, которым в течение нескольких лет постоянно делают инъекции «Ковинана». Чувствуют они себя хорошо, а хозяева так и вообще счастливы. Они отмечают, что кошка стала спокойной и покладистой. Но врачи не рекомендуют проводить лечение препаратом пожизненно. С возрастом у животного больше возможности получить осложнения.

Не всем нравится «Ковинан» для кошек. Отзывы о препарате есть и отрицательные. Некоторые владельцы отмечают, что лечение это довольно дорогое, а схема его применения сложная. Укол причиняет сильную боль животному, поэтому кошка будет кусаться и вырываться.

Есть и негативные отзывы не по поводу самого лекарства, а в адрес ветеринаров. Некоторые врачи делают укол, не предупредив хозяев о возможных последствиях и не осмотрев кошку. Поэтому сами владельцы животного должны знать, когда нельзя делать инъекцию, ведь им придется справляться с ее последствиями.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Загрузка...

Добавить комментарий

Ваш e-mail не будет опубликован. Обязательные поля помечены *